Board Of Governors
Home | Roster | Liaison | Minutes | Meeting Schedule | Procedures & Policy | Executive Committee

Elective Officers and the Board of Governors

The elective officers of the Maryland State Bar Association consist of the President, President-elect, Secretary, Treasurer, one or more District Governors elected from each district and three Young Lawyer Governors. The Board of Governors consists of all the elective officers of the Association, the Immediate Past President, the State Delegate to the House of Delegates of the American Bar Association, and the Chair of the Section of Young Lawyers.

The District Governors are elected on a District wide basis by plurality vote. The maximum number of District Governors shall be 32 and each district is entitled to at least one Governor. Young Lawyer Governors shall be elected by the Section of Young Lawyers. No Governor shall be elected to a successive term as a governor until at least one intervening two-year term has expired. Each Governor serves for a two year term and the term begins with the end of the Annual Meeting.

The Board of Governors shall have full power and authority over the affairs of the Association between its membership meetings and shall perform such other duties as specified in the Bylaws of the Association.


Back To Top