Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : September 2006

Previous | Next


Chief Judge Robert M. Bell has recently been named Chair of the National Center for State Courts' Board of Directors and president of the Conference of Chief Justices due to his leadership in the legal community and his positive impact within the Maryland Court System.

General jurisdiction trail judges throughout the nation have elected Prince George's Circuit Administrative Judge William D. Missouri as the chair of the National Conference of State Trial Judge. He is also currently the chair of Maryland Conference of Circuit Judges.

Mark F. Scurti, a founding partner of the law firm Scurti & Gulling, P.A., has been elected President of the Bar Association of Baltimore City, Maryland's oldest bar association.

The Board of Leadership Howard County, a nonprofit organization that prepares members to be leaders in the community, has elected Paul G. Skalny as Chair. Skalny is a principal at Davis, Agnor, Rapaport & Skalny, LLC.

Aida M. Lebbos, an associate at Saul Ewing LLP, has been elected to the Advocates for Children and Youth organization's Board of Directors. The organization encourages policies and programs that improve the lives of Maryland's children.

The Alliance of Black Women Attorneys has elected Kisha Brown and Arielle Harry-Bess as its president and president-elect, respectively, for the 2006-2007 term.

The Honorable C. Philip Nichols, Jr., Prince George's County Circuit Court, has received his Master's Degree, with highest distinction, in National Security and Strategic Studies from the U.S. Naval War College. Nichols is a Captain in the US Navy Reserve and is assigned to the US Navy-Marine Court of Criminal Appeals.

Tydings & Rosenberg, LLP, announces that three of their attorneys have received high distinctions within the legal community. Robert A. Gordon, a 14-year employee, has been appointed to Judge on the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Maryland; Ferrier R. Stillman has been honored as one of Maryland's Top 100 Women by The Daily Record; and John B. Isbister has received a "Champion of Justice" award from the Equal Justice Council due to his work with Maryland's Legal Aid Bureau.

Baltimore SmartCEO Magazine has recognized Adam S. Zarren, an associate at Neuberger, Quinn, Rubin & Gibber, P.A., as one of "Maryland's Legal Elite" for the second straight year.

Governor Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr., has appointed The Honorable Jean S. Baron as a member of the Task Force to Convene a Summit on Civic Literacy, with the focus of determining a strategy for enhancing the long-term civic engagement within the State.

The American Bar Association has appointed Alyson Dodi Meiselman, a partner with Scurti & Gulling, P.A., to its Commission on Women in the Profession.

Michael D. Zimmer has declared his candidacy for Carroll County Commissioner.

The Genesse Valley Outdoor Learning Center has named Glenn Cline, an associate at Ballard, Spahr, Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP, to its Board of Directors. Furthermore, three of Cline's colleagues at the firm have been named to Chambers USA, America's Leading Lawyers for Business, including, Ronald P. Fish, Morton P. Fisher, Jr., and Raymond G. Truitt, while Jon M. Laria was named to the list and elected as vice-president to the Baltimore Jewish Council.

John F. Lessner, of Ober Kaler, has been named president of the board of directors for the Court Appointed Special Advocate.

The law firm Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander, LLC, has announced that Lowell G. Herman was elected president of the Board of Trustees of Beth Tfiloh Dahan Community School, while David H. Fishman was named to The International Who's Who of Business Lawyers 2006 – Real Estate Area, and the Who's Who Legal USA: Real Estate 2006.

Samantha J. Protokowicz has joined her father's family law practice as an associate. Stanley E. Protokowicz, P.A., has also moved to 112 W. Pennsylvania Avenue, Suite 301, Bel Air, Maryland, 21014.

Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy & Ecker, P.A., recently added William F. Gibson, II and William B. Schroeder to the firm's Commercial Litigation Department.

James W. Dawson, Jr., has joined the law firm Stein, Sperling, Bennett, De Jong, Driscoll & Greenfeig, P.C. to concentrate in state and federal tax. Dawson is currently the president-elect for the Tax Section Council of the Maryland State Bar Association.

The Ellicott City-based firm Fishbein & Fishbein, P.A., has added Tracey Fitzsimmons as an associate and will focus in domestic relations and commercial litigation.

Mary Jane Fischer has joined Adelberg, Rudow, Dorf & Hendler, LLC as an associate and she will concentrate her practice in business and corporate law.

Ballard, Spahr, Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP, has elected Marci I. Gordon, a general real estate lawyer, to partner.

William J. Thomas has joined Ober Kaler as a principal in the law firm's national commercial finance and financial institutions practice.

Keirston R. Woods has joined Bryant Miller Olive and will practice Public Finance and Real Property law in the firm's new Washington D.C. office, located at 1775 Eye Street, Suite 700.

P. Terrence Gaffney has joined Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP, as a partner and will lead the firm's Pharmaceutical Products Group.

Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione has added Robert Dalton Summers to its Electrical & Computer practice.

The Law Offices of Kathleen J. Masterton, P.C., have relocated to The Riderwood Building, 1107 Kenilworth Drive, Suite 312, Towson, Maryland, 21204.

W. Lawrence Wescott, II, has opened up his own practice concentrating in appellate litigation at 28 Allegheny Avenue, Suite 500, Towson, Maryland, 21204.

Stark, Meyers & Eisler, LLC, has formed and headquartered at 11140 Rockville Pike, Suite 570, Rockville, Maryland, 20852.

So what have you done lately? Send your latest news to Patrick Tandy, c/o Bar Bulletin, 520 West Fayette Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21201, or, and be the talk of the town!

Previous previous

next Next

Publications : Bar Bulletin: September 2006

Back to top