Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : December 2007


Et Alia
Sylvia Ontaneda-Bernales, an Associate in Ober Kaler’s Complex Civil Litigation practice, was appointed by Governor Martin O’Malley to the Maryland Health Care Commission, where she will be a part of a fifteen member committee aimed to address health system needs and improve access to health care.

Arthur G. House

Arthur G. House

Toyja E. Kelley, a commercial and civil litigator for Tydings & Rosenberg, LLP, was named Vice Chair of the Defense Research Institute’s Diversity Committee.  DRI is an international organization of all lawyers involved in the defense of civil litigation.

William Boshnick of Greenblum & Bernstein, PLC, has been appointed Chairman of the International Education Committee of the American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA).

Recently a number of Paley Rothman attorneys have been garnered recognition: Marianne Kayan was named to the Fellows Program of the American Bar Association’s Real Property, Probate and Trust Law Section; David P. Shapiro was elected to the Board of Directors of the National Philharmonic; Kathleen M. Dumais, also a Maryland Delegate, was named “Democratic Diva of the Year” by the Young Democrats of Maryland Women’s Caucus; Daniel P. Hodin was elected by the Jewish Council for the Aging to its Executive Committee; and Arthur G. House was a panelist for the “Art and Science of Mergers & Acquisitions” at The President’s Forum of Metro-Washington.
The Council of the American Law Institute has added Maryland Court of Appeals Judge Lynne A. Battaglia, Baltimore City Circuit Court Judge W. Michel Pierson, and Gohn, Hankey & Stichel attorney H. Mark Stichel to its membership.

Arianne H. Monroe

The following attorneys were recognized in The Daily Record’s 2007 Leadership in Law Award:
wNeil E. Duke (Ober Kaler)
wJeffrey C. Maynard (Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP)

Ashley Mancinelli has joined Severn, O’Connor & Kresslein, P.A., as an Associate Attorney.

Ober Kaler has added Cynthia Blake Sanders to its Intellectual Property Group, and Carolyn W. Nazelrod to its Estates & Trusts practice.

Robert Lotstein joined Buckley Kolar, LLP, as a Senior Counsel in its Washington, D.C. office.

Hodes, Pessin & Katz, P.A., has brought in Mark F. Scurti as a member of its Litigation Department.

Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy & Ecker, P.A., has added Ira E. Hoffman to lead its Government Contracts Practice Group.  He will focus in the areas of government contracts, national security law, and international trade law, among others.

Sylvia Ontaneda-Bernales

Kenneth W. Courter, Jr., former law clerk for Anne Arundel Circuit Court Judge Paul F. Harris, Jr., joined the transactional practice group of Hyatt & Weber, P.A.

Ballard, Spahr, Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP, has brought Michael W. Skojec to their Baltimore office as a Partner in their Litigation Department, where he will focus on construction and housing litigation.

Arianne H. Monroe was added to The Law Offices of Kirk Halpin & Associates, P.A., as Of Counsel.  She will concentrate commercial real estate law.

Shannon D. Hughes was added as an Associate in the Estates & Asset Protection Group of Offit Kurman, which was named “2007 Large Business of the Year” by the Howard County Chamber of Commerce.

Adelberg, Rudow, Dorf & Hendler, LLC, opened a Howard County office at 3201 Rogers Avenue, Suite 301, Ellicott City, Maryland 21043; (410) 313-8342.

The law firm of Dewey & LeBoeuf, LLP, has opened at 975 F Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20004-1405; (202) 862-1000.

The Incentive Mentoring Program for disadvantaged youth in Baltimore City, and the Boys & Girls Clubs of Metropolitan Baltimore, LLC, each received a $10,000 grant from Ober Kaler’s Community Grants Program. Employees of the firm also volunteer with the Program.

previous next
Publications : Bar Bulletin: December 2007