Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : June 2007


Edwin G. Fee, Jr., Chair of the MSBA Estate & Trust Law Section, has been appointed as a new Pro Bono Partner with Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP.

The Honorable Irma S. Raker, Maryland Court of Appeals, 7th Appellate Circuit, has been chosen to receive the 2007 Margaret Brent Award from the American Bar Association due to her influence on other women to pursue legal careers.

Several Paley Rothman attorneys have been recognized within the legal community: Paula Calimafde was elected as a Fellow of the College of Tax Counsel; the Bar Association of Montgomery County awarded David P. Shapiro for his work as Section Chair of their Business Law Section; and Katharine Porwick was named Secretary for the metro-Bethesda Rotary Club, an organization of professional leaders dedicated to service in the community and workplace.

Camilla O. McRory was awarded the Humanitarian of the Year award by the Community Ministry of Montgomery County, a nonprofit group that aids the poor.

Stein, Sperling, Bennett, De Jong, Driscoll & Greenfeig, P.C., has added Diego J. Rojas and David A. Rosen to their firm, where they will handle personal injury and civil litigation matters, respectively.

Severn, O’Connor & Kresslein, P.A., has added Sarah E. Suszczyk to their firm as an Associate.

Stephanie D. Cohen has been added as an Associate in the firm-wide Financial Services Regulatory Group at Reed Smith, LLP.  She will focus on bank regulatory matters and residential mortgage.

Gary H. Leibowitz, an Associate in Saul Ewing LLP’s Bankruptcy and Restructuring and Litigation Departments, has been elected to a one-year term as Chair of the Baltimore Chapter of the Bankruptcy Bar Association for the District of Maryland (BBA).

Christine Williams, an employee benefits attorney for 20 years, has joined Northrop Grumman Corporation as Senior ERISA Counsel in the company’s Los Angeles corporate headquarters.

Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy & Ecker, P.A., has added Aaron A. Ghais, David S. Wachen, Christine P. Hsu, Stephen A. Metz, Patrick J. Howley and Jacob A. Ginsburg as shareholders in their firm. The following attorneys have been added to the firm: William D. Schroeder, Stacey L. Schwaber, Courtney R. Snyder, Jessica O. Hepburn, Thomas A. Gravely, Lawrence M. Kramer and Rebekah L. Bina.

Susan B. Austin and Susan D. Baker have been promoted from Of Counsels to Partners at the law firm of Niles, Barton & Wilmer.

Miles & Stockbridge, P.C., has added Felicia M. Hulit to the Banking & Finance and Real Estate Transactions groups.

Nicholas J. Ferrante has opened the Law Office of Nicholas J. Ferrante, LLC, where he will handle personal injury, criminal and business matters. His office is located at 135 West Dares Beach Road, Suite 209A, Prince Frederick, Maryland; (410) 535-6100.

Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP, have moved their Columbia office to 50 Corporate Center, Parkside Building, 10500 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 750, Columbia, Maryland 21044; (410) 347-8720.

The Bernabei Law Firm, a Washington D.C. civil rights firm, has changed its name to Bernabei & Wachtel, PLLC. It is located at 1775 T Street, N.W., Washington D.C. 20009-7214; (202) 745-7942, ext. 235.

Stein, Sperling, Bennett, De Jong, Driscoll & Greenfeig, P.C., has converted its Rockville offices to 100 percent wind-generated power for electricity – the first law firm in Maryland to do so.

previous next
Publications : Bar Bulletin: June 2007