Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : May 2007


Et Alia

Clifford C. Stoddard, a former Assistant State’s Attorney for Anne Arundel County and Chief Investigator for the District of Columbia Office of Police Complaints, was sworn in as Minority Council for the Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations, United States Senate.

The National Arbitration Forum has added N. Alfred Pasternak, an alternative dispute resolution attorney from Pasternak & Fidis, P.C., to their national panel of independent and neutral arbitrators and mediators.
Mary Ellen Flynn, managing partner for Andalman & Flynn, P.C., has been installed as the President of the Bar Association of Montgomery County.

The University of Baltimore honored Albert J. Mezzanotte, Jr., a managing partner and business litigator for Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, with the H. Mebane Turner Service Award.

Colonel Joseph K. Pokempner was awarded the Maryland Distinguished Service Cross by the Maryland Defense Force, due to his service above and beyond the normal call of duty. The award is one of the highest awards issued by the Maryland Military Department.

Hope B. Eastman, an employment law attorney, has joined The McCammon Group, a mediation and arbitration firm based in the Mid-Atlantic region, as a mediator and arbitrator.

The College of Workers Compensation Lawyers has inducted William R. Levasseur, Sr., as a Fellow in their first elected class. The College was created by the Labor and Employment, and Tort Trial and Insurance Sections of the American Bar Association to honor distinguished attorneys in the field of workers compensation.

Douglas M. Bregman was voted by the Montgomery County Bar Foundation as their 2007 Honorary Life Bar Leader. The presentation will be held June 6.

Karp, Frosh, Lapidus, Wigodsky & Norwind, P.A., has added Michael L. Subin, a retired Captain of the U.S. Naval Reserves and former president of the Montgomery County Council, as an associate.

Tydings & Rosenberg, LLP, has added three associates to their firm: Christopher M. Steer with the Litigation Department, Michael T. Ebaugh with the Business, Corporate & Tax Department, and Catherine A. Keller with the Bankruptcy/Creditors’ Rights Department.

Drake C. Zaharris, a member of Hodes, Pessin & Katz, P.A., since 1994, has been elected Co-Managing Director of the firm.
Litigator David W. Erb has joined Fisher & Philips, LLP, as a partner.

Moore & Jackson, LLC, has brought in Thomas M. Trezise as an Of Counsel, where he will focus on insurance law, litigation and ancillary transactional matters.

The law firm of Stein, Sperling, Bennett, De Jong, Driscoll & Greenfeig, P.C., has opened a new office at 5283 Corporate Drive, Suite 301, Frederick, Maryland 21703; (301) 340-2020.

next next
Publications : Bar Bulletin: May 2007