Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : September 2007


MSBA Past-President Harry Johnson has been made a member of the ABA’s Standing Committee on the Federal Judiciary. Similarly, the National Conference of Bar Presidents has appointed MSBA Past-President J. Michael Conroy to its Executive Council and fellow MSBA Past-President Jim Nolan as its Secretary.

The Honorable Steven I. Platt has retired from the Circuit Court for Prince George’s County (7th Circuit) to engage in private practice of Alternative Dispute Resolution, as well as consulting with The Platt Group, Inc.

The American Health Lawyers Association has made Robert R. Niccolini, a partner in McGuireWoods’ Baltimore office, the Chair of their Labor and Employment Practice Group.

Audubon Maryland-DC, an environmental preservation organization, has elected Kimberly A. Manuelides, a Special Counsel in the Litigation Department of Saul Ewing, LLP, to serve on their Board of Directors.

Scott G. Patterson, a State’s Attorney for Talbot County, has been elected for a two-year term as President of the Maryland State’s Attorney’s Association.

Stephen D. Hayes has been named Vice President and General Counsel for TECORE Wireless Systems, a Columbia, Maryland, developer and manufacturer of scalable wireless network solutions.

Governor Martin O’Malley has awarded Catherine Hester a Governor’s Citation due to her year-long service with Volunteer Maryland, an AmeriCorps program.

H. Victoria Hedian, President of Abato, Rubenstein and Abato, P.A., has been named a Fellow of the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers.

Offit Kurman has added Ellen Hennessey as a Partner in the Estates & Asset Protection group of the firm’s Howard County office.

Timothy J. Capurso, Laura L. Johnson, Cynthia A. Shay and Y. Jeffrey Spatz have been elected as members at Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander, LLC.

A. Thomas Pedroni, Jr., has joined Ober Kaler’s Health Law Group as a Principal, where he will continue to practice in health care institutions, health information technology and insurance.

The Shump Law Firm has added Roopesh Vijayan, a former Assistant Public Defender in Baltimore City, as an Associate; his practice will focus on Taxation, Business and Estate Planning.

Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP, has added Mark Pollak as a Partner in the firm’s Baltimore office and Susan Eleff as Of Counsel in its Bethesda office.

Andrew G. Slutkin has joined the law firm of Silverman, Thompson and White, forming Silverman, Thompson, Slutkin & White. The firm is located at 201 N. Charles Street, Suite 2600, Baltimore, Maryland 21201; (410) 385-2225.

Chaikin and Sherman, P.C., has added Joseph Cammarata and Allan M. Siegel as Partners to the Washington D.C. firm; the new firm’s name is Chaikin, Sherman, Cammarata & Siegel, P.C., located at 1232 17th Street, N.W., 20036; (202) 659-8600.

Michael Malone has opened the Law Office of Michael Malone, where he will handle family law, traffic, personal injury and mediation matters. His office is located at 2133 Defense Highway, Suite 3, Crofton, Maryland 21114; (301) 261-0005.

previous next
Publications : Bar Bulletin: September 2007