Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : September 2008


The Maryland Food Bank and Capital Area Food Bank named Maryland Attorney General Douglas F. Gansler as the 2008 Honorary Chair of the Lawyers’ Campaign Against Hunger, the longest running fundraiser sponsored by lawyers in Maryland.

Eric H. Singer was given the Pro Bono Service Award at the 2008 National Migration Conference in Washington, D.C., for his efforts in appellate representation on behalf of detained immigrants.

Carol G. Cooper

At the American Bar Association’s Annual Meeting, The Honorable Richard C. Goodwin began his one-year term as Chair of the ABA’s National Conference of the Administrative Judiciary, Judicial Division.

Ivonne Corsino Lindley, an attorney with Stein, Sperling, Bennett, De Jong, Driscoll & Greenfeig, P.C., was selected as Commissioner for the Montgomery County Commission for Women, which was established to advocate equal rights for women.

Carol G. Cooper, an associate in the Family Law and Litigation divisions of Adelberg, Rudow, Dorf & Hendler, LLC, was named as the 2008-2009 Family Law Committee Chair for the Bar Association of Baltimore City.

The National Association of IOLTA Programs has elected Susan Erlichman, Executive Director of the Maryland Legal Services Corporation, as president of their Board of Directors.

Blank Rome, LLP’s environmental and maritime attorney Charles T. Blocksidge was appointed by Governor Martin O’Malley to serve on the three-member Calvert County Property Tax Assessment Appeals Board.

Whiteford, Taylor & Preston partner Peter D. Guattery was named Chair of the MSBA’s Labor and Employment Section Council for a two-year term.

Creative Dispute Resolutions, LLC, an ADR business in Maryland, has been formed and includes mediators and arbitrators: Henry C. Clarke, Jr., Dena C. Feeney, William E. Hewitt, Jr., Erik C. Johnson, The Honorable Dennis M. McHugh, Joel Savits, Steven A. Shapiro and The Honorable Ann N. Sundt. They can be reached at (301) 977-8002 or at

Lt. Col. Sam Riley has returned from active duty with the U.S. Army in Baghdad, Iraq, where he served this past year with Maryland’s 58th Infantry Brigade Combat Team. The Law Offices of Samuel M. Riley, LLC, is located at 409 Washington Avenue, Suite 200, Towson, Maryland 21204; (410) 296-8350.

E. Scott Johnson

E. Scott Johnson was elected to a one-year term as Chair of the Maryland State Arts Council. He is the immediate past president of the Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation, a past president of the Maryland Lawyers for the Arts and Chair of the Intellectual Property practice in Ober Kaler’s Baltimore office.

Raymond T. McKenzie opened The Law Office of Raymond T. McKenzie, Esq., at 2101 Gaither Road, Suite 160, Rockville, Maryland 20850; (301) 330-6790.

Maria Ellena Chavez-Ruark has joined Tydings & Rosenberg, LLP, as a partner in its Bankruptcy/Creditors’ Rights Department.

Miles & Stockbridge, P.C., added Cameron K. Weiffenbach to its Intellectual Property and Biotechnology practices.

previous next
Publications : Bar Bulletin: September 2008

back to top