Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : February 2010



Kimberly L. Battaglia

Caroline Ciraolo, an attorney at Rosenberg Martin Greenberg, LLP, received the annual Janet Spargens Pro Bono Award from the Taxation Section of the American Bar Association.  Ciraolo was one of two attorneys to receive the 2010 award.

James R. Benjamin, Jr

The Maryland Clean Energy Center added Sophie Dagenais, a real estate and business attorney with Ballard Spahr, LLP, to its 48-person Advisory Board.  Dagenais is the first attorney on the Board.  The Energy Center was created by the 2008 Maryland General Assembly.

Sanford “Sandy” V. Teplitzky was elected to a three-year term on the Board of Directors for Baltimore Reads, Inc., a program that teaches literacy skills to adults.

The Board of Governors for the College of Community Association Lawyers elected Jeffrey Van Grack as dean of the CCAL for 2011 and 2012.  Van Grack co-chairs Lerch, Early and Brewer’s Community Association Practice.

Kevin L. Shepherd, co-chair of Venable LLP’s Real Estate Practice Group, was elected president of the American College of Real Estate Attorneys.

Heather A. Howard, Meredith S. Campbell and Ira E. Hoffman were promoted to shareholder at Shulman, Rogers, Gandal, Pordy & Ecker, P.A.

Caroline Ciraolo

The Law Offices of Anne Hocke, Esq., L.L.C., added Steven J. Sturm as an associate.

DLA Piper’s Baltimore Office promoted Penny Minna, a corporate and securities attorney, to partner.

James R. Benjamin, Jr., and Kimberly L. Battaglia were elected as members of the firm at Hodes, Pessin & Katz, P.A.

The law firm Jackson Lewis has opened a Baltimore office and added several attorneys. They include partners Richard J. Hafets, Emmett F. McGee, Brooks R. Amiot and Larry R. Seegull; and associates Linda M. Boyd, Lynn A. Clements, Jill S. Distler, Clifton R. Gray and Paul Mallos.

Miles & Stockbridge, P.C., promoted Colleen M. Pleasant Kline, Laura A. Pierson-Scheinberg and Ryan D. Showalter to principals.

Kristina Newcomb joined the law firm Fishbein & Fishbein, P.A. as an associate.

Venable LLP elected Michael L. Hecht, Sarah P. Smith and Kelly S. Weiner to partnership status.

Toyja E. Kelley

Edward J. Levin joined Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander, LLC.  Levin will be a member in the firm’s Real Estate Practice Group.

Saul Ewing, LLP, elected Kimberly A. Manuelides and Charles N. Curlett, Jr., to partner; Philip M. Bograt to special counsel.

Restructuring and Insolvency attorney James E. Van Horn was elected to partner at McGuireWoods, LLP.

Harvey S. Jacobs and his law firm, Jacobs & Associates, LLC, merged with Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A. 

Tydings & Rosenberg, LLP, elected Toyja E. Kelley to the firm’s partnership.

Pasternak & Fidis, P.C., will co-sponsor a nearly month-long run of the play Around the World in 80 Days at the Round House Theater in Bethesda, Maryland.

previous next
Publications : Bar Bulletin: February 2010

back to top