Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : July 2010


The 2010 MSBA Annual Meeting Highlights
The Annual Meeting in Ocean City, Maryland was a huge success. The Annual Meeting consists of Educational Programs, Dinners and Crab Feasts, Receptions, Social Networking and More!
Watch Video


Melvin Hirshman is honored on his retirement, after nearly 30 years of service as Bar Counsel, during the Annual Business Meeting.

“I like the I.T. programs – the things on the Internet and the latest technology and social networking.”

Attendees enjoy one of the many educational programs that explore the latest developments in various substantive areas of the law.

MSBA Public Awareness Committee Chair Alice S. Chong (left) presents this year's winners of the MSBA Video Contest with their prizes.

“The President’s Reception was very enjoyable. I was overwhelmed by all the food and all the people. It was great to see people I don’t get to see on a regular basis, too.”

“It’s a good opportunity to meet and have fun with other lawyers, talk business and enjoy each other in an informal environment at the beach.  What more could you ask for?”

The latest additions to Maryland's Judiciary are honored at the New Judges' Reception.

From left: Incoming MSBA President Thomas D. Murphy, his wife Mary, outgoing MSBA President Thomas C. Cardaro and his wife Sue gather for the Presidentís Reception.

“It’s a great way, particularly as a young lawyer, to get to know the other attorneys and judges in other counties.”

CLREP keeps the kiddies entertained while educating them about the law with its traditional Children's Hour.

Attendees indulge in a seafood cornucopia at the annual Crab Feast at Hoopers.

A wide array of vendors keep attendees up to date on the latest developments in law-related technology and services in the Exhibit Hall.

Harvard Law Professor Robert H. Mnookin signs copies of his book Bargaining with the Devil shortly before giving a presentation.

“There’s always something to learn, something to find out.”


Mary Park McLean (left), on behalf of the MSBA Consumer Bankruptcy Section, accepts the Presidential Best Section Project Award form MSBA Executive Director Paul V. Carlin in recognition of the Section's foreclosure seminars.

Edwin G. Fee, Jr. (left) accepts the Presidential Best Section Project Award from MSBA Executive Director Paul V. Carlin on behalf of the Delivery of Legal Services Section for its efforts on the filing fees legislation.

Keith Truffer (left) presents the Anselm Sodaro Judicial Civility Award to this yearís recipient, the Honorable Ann Sundt.


Anselm Sodaro Award
- Hon. Ann Sundt


Service to the Public - Delivery of Legal Services
Service to its Member - Consumer Bankruptcy Section


Edward F. Shea, Jr. Professionalism Award - Gwendolyn S. Tate
H. Vernon Eney Award - K. King Burnett
J. Joseph Curran Award - John McCarthy


Alternative Dispute Resolution SECTION
Robert M. Bell Award - Marvin Johnson

Administrative Law SECTION
John W. Hardwicke, Sr., Memorial Award - Hon. Robert A. Zarnoch

Business Law SECTION
James J. Hanks Lifetime Achievement Award - Lowell R. Bowen
Steven J. Mandell Scholarship Award - Abigail Knauff

Consumer Bankrputcy SECTION
Belsky Award - Mark Scurti

Correctional Reform SECTION
Paul J. Davis Award - Jack Kavanagh

Criminal Law SECTION
Robert C. Heeney Award - Joseph F. Vallario, Jr.

Family & Juvenile Law SECTION
Beverly Groner Award - Del. Kathleen Dumais

Real Property, Planning & Zoning SECTION
Distinguished Maryland Real Property Practitioner of the Year Award - Kevin L. Shepherd

Senior Lawyers SECTION
Senior Lawyer of the Year Award - Hon. Frank E. Cicone

Solo & Small Firm Practice SECTION
Hjortsberg Award - David Densford

Taxation SECTION
Tax Excellence Award - Paula M. Junghans
J. Ronald Shiff Memorial Pro Bono Award - Gerald W. Kelly

previous next
Publications : Bar Bulletin: July 2010

back to top