Maryland Bar Bulletin
Publications : Bar Bulletin : July 2013



MSBA Past President James L. Thompson (1999-2000) was named by The Best Lawyers in America as 2013 “Lawyer of the Year” in Eminent Domain Law and Condemnation Law. Thompson leads the Litigation practice at Miller, Miller & Canby.

Marlene Trestman, Special Assistant of the Maryland Attorney General, was awarded the Hughes-Gossett Prize by the journal of Supreme Court History for best article of 2012 for Fair Labor: The remarkable Life and Legal Career of Bessie Magolin (1909-1996).

Cynthia L. Leppert was installed as President of the Bar Association of Baltimore City. Leppert is an attorney at of Neuberger, Quinn, Glelen, Rubin & Gibber, P.A.

The American Bar Association has appointed Stuart Simms as a member of the Special Committee on Bioethics and the Law, which is part of the ABA’s Division of Public Services, a department dedicated to applying the knowledge and experience of the legal profession to promotion of the public good.

Andrew “Jay” Maschas joined Frost & Associates as an associate focusing on federal and state tax controversies, audits, litigations, and criminal investigations.

Dana W. McKee, a partner at Brown, Goldstein & Levy, was selected as a Board Member of the Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service. The MVLS provides free legal representation to Marylanders with limited income and provides free legal help for community-based nonprofits that are working to strengthen low-income communities in Maryland.

The George Washington University Alumni Association installed Steven Frenkil, a principal at Miles & Stockbridge P.C., as its president. Frenkil practices employment law and education law and graduated from the University’s Columbian College of Arts and Sciences in 1974.

Howard Sollins was appointed co-chair of Ober Kaler’s Health Law Group.

Whiteford Taylor & Preston added Jerald Lurie to the firm’s Business and Corporate practice. Lurie will be based in the Baltimore Office.

Howard Brucker has opened the Law office of Howard A. Brucker, LLC. The office is located in the Tidewater Marina Building, 201 South Market Street, Suite 205, Havre De grace, Maryland 21078; (443) 418-6675.

Whiteford Taylor & Preston received the trailblazers Award from the Equal Justice of Maryland Legal Aid. The firm received this award due to its commitment to ensuring equal access to justice and support of Maryland Legal Aid.

previous next
Publications : Bar Bulletin : July 2013

back to top