MSBA teamed with The Daily Record to serve as Presenting Sponsor of the 2018 Leadership in Law Awards on May 17 at the BWI Hilton.


MSBA President Sara H. Arthur


“We’re very proud of all the honorees tonight, all of whom are part of the MSBA,” said MSBA President Sara H. Arthur. Arthur, herself a past Leadership in Law honoree, told the crowd of more than 300 attendees that “I know how significant [the Award] is for lawyers and judges in Maryland.”


Maryland Bar Foundation President Natalie McSherry (center) was among the 2018 Leadership in Law Award recipients.


MSBA President-Elect Judge Keith R. Truffer (left) with MSBA Past President and 2018 Leadership in Law honoree Harry S. Johnson


“As the home for legal professionals in Maryland, [MSBA] serves member interests in every practice segment of a very diverse profession,” said Daily Record Publisher Suzanne Fischer-Huettner. “They promote access to justice, service to the public, and respect for the rule of law.”


Young Lawyers Section Chair-Elect Indira K. Sharma (left) with Charles County Circuit Court Family Magistrate Monise A. Brown, one of the 2018 Leadership in Law honorees


Congratulations to all of the 2018 Leadership in Law Award honorees:

Top Winner

Anna L. Davis
Advocates for Children and Youth

Generation J.D. Honorees

Monise A. Brown
Charles County Circuit Court

Joshua L. Caplan
Maryland Office of the Attorney General, Contract Litigation Unit

Catherine E. Grason
Maryland Insurance Administration

Jonathan A. Havens
Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP

Venroy July
Miles & Stockbridge

Thomas K. Prevas
Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr LLP

Kerri L. Smith
Silverman, Thompson, Slutkin & White LLC

Leadership in Law Honorees

LaKeecia Allen
Prince George’s County Office of the County Attorney

Alex M. Allman
Offit Kurman, P.A.

Terrence J. Artis
Maryland Commission on Civil Rights

Hon. Kendra Y. Ausby
Circuit Court for Baltimore City

Gregory Care
Brown, Goldstein & Levy, LLP

Hon. Donine Marie Carrington
Charles County Circuit Court

Natasha M. Dartigue
Office of the Public Defender

Swata Gandhi
DAP Products Inc.

Stanford Gann Jr.
Levin & Gann, P.A.

Angela B. Grau
Davis, Agnor, Rapaport & Skalny, LLC

Barry Herman
Womble Bond Dickinson

Elizabeth M. Hewlett
Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC)

Ned T. Himmelrich
Gordon Feinblatt LLC

Timothy Hodge Jr.
Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP

Brett Ingerman
DLA Piper

Kevin Kelehan
Carney Kelehan Bresler Bennett & Scherr, LLP

Irwin R. Kramer
Kramer & Connolly

Hon. Michael D. Mason
Montgomery County Circuit Court

Margaret A. Mead
Mead Law P.A.

Richard Neuworth
Lebau and Neuworth LLC

Deborah Potter
Potter Burnett Law

Christopher Rahl
Gordon Feinblatt LLC

Gary L. Simpler
Shawe Rosenthal LLP

Kerry D. Staton
Schochor, Federico and Staton

Kimberly Wagner
Loyola University, Sellinger School of Business

2018 Lifetime Achievement Honorees

Harry S. Johnson
Whiteford Taylor & Preston, LLP

Judge Peter B. Krauser 
Court of Special Appeals of Maryland

M. Natalie McSherry
Kramon & Graham

Thomas Minkin
Law Offices of Peter G. Angelos, PC


View more photos