Del. Erek Barron, current Secretary of the MSBA, has been nominated by the Board of Governors (“Board”) as President-Elect for the 2021-22 Bar year.  In addition, the Board has nominated Jason DeLoach to serve a second term as Treasurer of the MSBA, and nominated newcomer, David Shapiro, to serve as Secretary of the MSBA.   The trio will join current MSBA President-Elect, M. Natalie McSherry, as the Officers for 2021-22 Bar year.

Del. Barron is a partner with Whiteford, Taylor, Preston, LLP and focuses his practice on business litigation and crisis management.  He provides strategic advice and advocacy to a range of corporate, nonprofit and government entities.  He has received numerous awards and recognitions for his work, including:

  • The Best Lawyers in America®, Appellate Practice, Maryland – Rockville (2020–present)
  • Maryland Super Lawyers®, General Litigation, Rockville, Maryland (2013–Present); “Rising Stars” (2013-2014)
  • The Daily Record, Very Important Professionals Under 40 (2012)
  • Maryland Equal Justice Associates’ Leadership Award (May 2010)

In addition to his impressive legal career, Del. Barron serves as a member of the Maryland House of Delegates, representing Prince George’s County.  He serves on the Health & Government Operations Committee, where he plays a significant role in shaping healthcare policy, administrative law and labor and employment law.

Del. Barron is also a leader in the community, serving in various leadership roles for civic and charitable organization, including the Maryland Legal Aid Bureau, the Maryland Pro Bono Resource Center, and the Prince George’s County Coalition of Adoption Programs, Inc., among others.

His nomination, along with nominations for Mr. DeLoach and Mr. Shapiro, will be confirmed by the membership at the Annual Business Meeting of the Association scheduled to take place in June.