The Chief Judge Robert M. Bell Award for Outstanding Contribution to Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) in Maryland is to honor the vision and accomplishments of Chief Judge Robert M. Bell for his work in promoting the use of ADR in the Maryland judiciary, schools, government and communities. The Award is intended to recognize Maryland organizations and individuals, both within the legal community and beyond, who are creating and providing innovative and effective ADR services and programs; to support entities that seek excellence through education about ADR and ADR outreach programs, and entities that demonstrate a commitment to utilize ethical standards in their ADR programs and practices; and to encourage individuals to become catalysts for change and to demonstrate exemplary ADR best practices and approaches.

Nomination Deadline: December 31, 2023


Submit a Nomination

Step 1 of 2

  • Nominator Information


Previous Award Recipients

2023 – Erricka Bridgeford

2020 – Toby Treem Guerin, Esq.

2019 – Hon. Thomas G. Ross

2018 – Louise Phipps Senft, Esq.

2017 – Dr. Lorig Charkoudian

2016 – Chief Judge Peter B. Krauser

2015 – Jonathan S. Rosenthal, Esq.



2014 – Martin A. Kranitz

2013 – Rachel A. Wohl, Esq.

2012 – Patricia A. Miller, Esq.

2011 – Hon. Melanie A. Vaughn

2010 – Marvin E. Johnson, Esq.

2008 – Ramona Buck

2007 – Roger C. Wolf