MSBA is actively seeking Program Proposals from the Maryland Legal Community to enrich our 2024 event. Submit Your Program Before the Priority Deadline: December 4, 2023.

Submit a Nomination

Background Information and Instructions
  • At the prompts that follow, provide requested information about you and any information that is reasonably available to you about the nominee.
  • Any person may make nominations. A person may make more than one nomination.
  • Current members of the Litigation Section Council are not eligible to be nominated.

To be eligible for nomination, a person must:

  1. Currently be licensed to practice in Maryland;
  2. Be a current dues-paying member of the MSBA;
  3. Practice predominately in the area of litigation;
  4. Practice predominately in Maryland; and
  5. Be actively engaged in the practice of law in the 12-month period prior to the nomination deadline.

Criteria for evaluation of nominations:

  1. Assessment of litigation skills;
  2. Assessment of legal management skills;
  3. Results of litigation;
  4. Professionalism and civility;
  5. Extra-curricular contributions to the profession, i.e., bar service, service to judiciary, etc.; and
  6. Extra-curricular contributions to the community at-large.

The award will be presented at the Litigation Section’s Annual Dinner Meeting in the Spring. The Litigation Section Council will select the recipient.

Please submit your completed nomination form by the close of business on February 1.


Previous Award Recipients

Andrew Jay Graham — 2011-2012
Alvin I. Frederick — 2012-2013
Timothy F. Maloney, Jr. — 2013-2014
Kathleen Howard Meredith — 2014-2015
Ava E. Lias-Booker — 2015-2016
Amy E. Askew — 2016-2017
Bruce Marcus — 2017-2018
Julia Doyle Bernhardt — 2018-2019