About the Award

The criteria for this award has been developed from those qualities that David Hjortsberg, Esq. gave to our profession: a solo or small firm practitioner who is intelligent and knowledgeable in the law, hardworking and tenacious, yet respectful and civil to every party, witness and attorney in a case. Nominees for the award view the practice of law as a lofty profession and take pride in his/her work. They are also active in their communities, their local Bar, and the MSBA.

Submit a Nomination


Prior David Hjortsberg Award Recipients


  • Roland Bounds, Howard County, 1998-99
  • Neil Helfrich, Harford County, 1999-2000
  • Steve Selzer, Montgomery County, 2000-01
  • Roger Perkins, Anne Arundel County, 2001-02
  • Kathleen Chapman, Frederick County, 2001-02
  • Mike Jacobs, Talbot County, 2003-04
  • Vince Guida, Howard County, 2004-05
  • Karren Pope-Onwukwe, Prince George’s County, 2005-06
  • Dick Gelfman, Howard County, 2006-07
  • Michael Gordon, Baltimore City, 2007-08
  • Mary Ellen Flynn, Montgomery County, 2008-09
  • David Densford, St. Mary’s County, 2009-10
  • William I. Weston, 2009-10 (posthumous)
  • Marla Zide, Anne Arundel County, 2010-11
  • Jeffrey Letzkus, Howard County, 2011-12
  • Rebecca N. Strandberg, Montgomery County, 2012-13
  • Thomas Matthew Weschler, Montgomery County, 2013-14
  • Robert J. Zarbin, Anne Arundel County, 2014-15
  • Jonathan Shoup, 2015-2016 (posthumous)
  • Peter Ayers Wimbrow, III, Worcester County, 2016-2017
  • Mary Keating, Baltimore City, 2017-2018
  • Irwin Kramer, Baltimore City, 2018-2019