Any lawyer admitted to practice in Maryland, who is a member of the Maryland State Bar Association, and who will not reach the age of 38 before the end of 2024, is eligible for the Edward F. Shea, Jr nomination.

Examples of the kinds of qualities and actions which are viewed favorably by the Committee are:

  • Establishment of a reputation and a tradition of professionalism, defined as “the pursuit of a learned art as a common calling in the spirit of public service”
  • Contribution of time and resources to public service or charitable activities
  • Encouragement, through deeds, of respect for the law and our legal system
  • Involvement in work to make the legal system more accessible to the poor and the working poor
  • Encouragement of other lawyers to develop and maintain their knowledge of the law and proficiency in practice
  • Demonstration of a high degree of courtesy, personal dignity, and professional integrity

The H. Vernon Eney award is presented by the Maryland Bar Foundation to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in working to improve government and the administration of justice.

Nominees should exhibit the four principal characteristics of Mr. Eney, as distinguished by his career:

  • Excellence in the law
  • Bar leadership
  • Community leadership
  • And an enormous capacity for work

The recipient of this award is either a government or public interest lawyer known for selflessly serving the public good and furthering the goals of better government and societal standards.

The Curran Award is named in honor of former Maryland Attorney General J. Joseph Curran, Jr.

The Maryland Bar Foundation offers the Legal Excellence Awards to honor members of the legal community.


  • The Advancement of Professional Competence
  •  Steven P. Lemmey Legal Excellence Award for The Advancement of Public Service Responsibility
  •  The Advancement of Advocacy for Justice
  •  The Advancement of the Rights of the Disadvantaged
  •  The Advancement of Public Understanding of the Law

Submit Your Award Nomination

Submit a nominee to receive one of the MBF awards: Edward F. Shea Jr. Professionalism, H. Vernon Eney Endowment Fund Award, J. Joseph Curran Public Service Award, Legal Excellence Awards.

Nomination Deadline: December 31, 2023 | J. Joseph Curran Jr. Professionalism Award | Legal Excellence Awards

Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2024 | Edward F. Shea Award | H. Vernon Eney Endowment Fund Award


Step 1 of 2

  • Nominator Information