☀️🏖️ Better weather is ahead, join us for Legal Summit in Ocean City this summer! Early Bird registration ends March 31, 2024, so lock in your registration today.

The Maryland Bar Foundation (MBF) works to foster honor and integrity in the legal profession, improve the administration of justice, and promote the study of law and related research by making grants to organizations whose work within Maryland is driven by those same goals.

Each year, MBF honors distinguished leaders in the state’s legal community with its Legal Excellence Awards, as well as its annual J. Joseph Curran, Jr. Public Service Award. The MBF Board of Directors, chaired by President Natalie McSherry, Esq., recognized this year’s award recipients during its Open Meeting held Thursday, April 25, at the College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center in Hyattsville:

Mid-Shore Pro Bono Executive Director Sandy Brown (left) presents the Steven P. Lemmey Award for the Advancement of Public Service Responsibility to the Hon. Thomas G. Ross.

Advancement of Professional Competence Award recipient Cecilia B. Paizs (left) with Gary Norman.

MBF Vice President Judge Mark F. Scurti (right) presents the Advancement of the Rights of the Disadvantaged Award to the Hon. Nicole Pastore-Klein. (This award was also presented the the Baltimore City District Court Re-Entry Project.)

Advancement of Advocacy for Justice Award recipient Susan K. Francis (left) with Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service Executive Director Bonnie Sullivan.

Advancement of Public Understanding of the Law Award recipient Erik S. Atas (left) with Elisha Hawk.

Curran Award recipient Raymond A. Hein (left) with the award’s namesake, former Maryland Attorney General J. Joseph Curran, Jr.

View more photos