The MSBA Board of Governors held its customary spring retreat on Friday, May 10, 2019, at the Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel in Columbia, Maryland. The daylong event, which featured updates from MSBA staff, roundtable breakout sessions, and more, provided a forum for not only current members of the Board of Governors but also those newly elected Board members whose terms will begin in June following the Legal Summit & Annual Meeting.

Congratulations to the following new Board members (FY 2019):

FIRST DISTRICT (Baltimore City)

  • Damien R. Banks
  • Kelly Hughes Iverson
  • Divya Potdar
  • Cynthia L. Leppert

SECOND DISTRICT (Dorchester/Somerset, Wicomico/Worcester Counties)

  • Kristy M. Hickman

THIRD DISTRICT (Caroline/Kent, Queen Anne’s/Talbot Counties)

  • Thomas N. Yeager

FIFTH DISTRICT (Prince George’s County)

  • Hon. Erik H. Nyce

SIXTH DISTRICT (Montgomery County)

  • Carlotta Ann Woodward
  • Lauri E. Cleary

SEVENTH DISTRICT (Anne Arundel County)

  • Stacey Rice
  • Hon. Elizabeth Morris

EIGHTH DISTRICT (Baltimore County)

  • Rebecca Fleming
  • Wallace Kleid
  • Craig J. Little

TENTH DISTRICT (Howard County)

  • Ali Kalarestahgi

TWELFTH DISTRICT (Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties)

  • Terri Ann Lowery


  • Barron Stroud, Litigation
  • Joyce Smithey, Labor & Employment Law


  • Elizabeth Rosen

The Honorable Mark F. Scurti, who currently serves as MSBA Treasurer, leads an officer nomination slate (first published in early February) that also includes Maryland Delegate Erek Barron for Secretary and M. Natalie McSherry for Treasurer. The slate is subject to confirmation by vote of the general membership during the MSBA Legal Summit & Annual Meeting on Saturday, June 15, 2019, in Ocean City, Maryland. To register for the Legal Summit & Annual Meeting, or for more information, visit our website.

View more photos