The Honorable Anselm
Sodaro Judicial Civility Award
Submit Nominations By Friday, March 12, 2021


The Honorable Anselm Sodaro Judicial Civility Award is presented annually to a sitting judge of the District, Circuit or Appellate courts of Maryland who demonstrates exceptional judicial temperament, civility, and courtesy to attorneys, litigants, and others.

Judge Sodaro stated that courtrooms should be “inviting” to attorneys and litigants. Judge Sodaro believed that while judges must maintain order and control of the courtroom, they should do so in a manner which does not demean or embarrass attorneys, litigants, jurors, or witnesses. He noted that lawyers always sought judges who provided a “level playing field.” Judge Sodaro made it a practice to compliment attorneys and litigants and to recognize in open court the efforts of both sides in presenting difficult cases. This award seeks to honor judges with similar qualities.

Click HERE to Nominate Colleague 

You can also submit a nomination to Angela Munro at


Previous Sodaro Award Recipients

2020 – Hon. Gregory C. Powell
2019 – Hon. Martin P. Welch
2018 – Hon. Stuart R. Berger
2017 – Hon. Theresa Adams
2016 – Hon. C. Philip Nichols, Jr.
2015 – Hon. Robert Greenberg
2014 – Hon. James Sherbin
2013 – Hon. John P. Miller
2012 – Hon. Pamela North
2011 – Hon. John H. Tisdale
2010 – Hon. Ann Sundt
2009 – Hon. Robert J. Steinberg
2008 – Hon. Diane O. Leasure
2007 – Hon. Joseph P. Manck
2006 – Hon. Richard H. Sothoron, Jr.
2005 – Hon. Neil Edward Axel
2004 – Hon. Ellen Moses Heller
2003 – Hon. Daniel M. Long
2002 – Hon. Albert J. Matricciani, Jr.
2001 – Hon. Robert H. Mason
2000 – Hon. Maurice W. Baldwin, Jr.
1999 – Hon. Ann S. Harrington
1998 – Hon. Raymond Joseph Kane Jr.