More than 70 people turned out to the Center Club in Baltimore on May 16, 2018, for the MSBA Taxation Section‘s Annual Irving Shulbank Memorial Dinner. The Section’s 2018 honorees included:


  • Taxation Section Counsel Book Prize: Selena Qian
  • J. Ronald Shiff Memorial Pro Bono Award: James P. Leith
  • Tax Excellence Award: Steven M. Gevarter


James P. Leith received the 2018 J. Ronald Shiff Memorial Pro Bono Award.


Maryland Department of Budget and Management Secretary David R. Brinkley delivered the evening’s keynote address, while Section Chair Gerald W. Kelly provided opening and closing remarks.


Selena Qian received the 2018 Tax Section Counsel Book Prize.


The event’s namesake, the late Irving Shulbank, was a Past Section Chair and lectured and authored numerous articles in the field of tax law during his 18 years as a partner at Gordon, Feinblatt, Rothman, Hoffberger & Hollander, LLC. A Certified Public Accountant, Shulbank was also a graduate of the University of Maryland School of Law.


Steven M. Gevarter received the 2018 Tax Excellence Award.


Event sponsors included:

  • Frost & Associates, LLC
  • Kelly Dorsey, PC
  • Law Firm of Paley Rothman
  • Levy, Mann, Caplan, Hermann & Polashuk, LLP
  • Miles & Stockbridge, PC
  • Baker Donelson
  • Rosenberg | Martin | Greenberg, LLP
  • Stein, Sperling, Bennett, DeJong & Driscoll, PC
  • Venable, LLP
  • Gordon Feinblatt, LLC
  • Whiteford | Taylor | Preston, LLP


View more photos